top of page


Key Facts

Tanzania is a state in East Africa. It is located at the Indian Ocean and borders on Kenya and Uganda in the north, Rwanda, Burundi and the DR Congo in the west and Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique in the South




Tanganyika became independent from the mandate power Great Britain in 1961 and joined Zanzibar (islands of Pemba and Unguja) to Tanzania in 1964. The country's name is composed of Tanganyika, Zanzibar and the name Azania.



Capital: Dodoma

Seat of government: Dar es Salaam

Population: 56.3 million (2018)

Official language: Swahili, English

Area: 945.087 km²

Currency: Tanzania Shilling (1 Euro = approx. 2.500 Tsh - varies depending on exchange rate)

Religion: 40 % Christians, 40 % Muslims, 20 % other religions (primitive peoples)

Time zone: UTC +3


Best Travel Time and Rain Season



The climate in Tanzania is considered tropical. The summer months from December to March form the hottest season, while the tropical winter extends from June to September.




Rain seasons


Tanzania has a tropical climate, which can be divided into dry and rain seasons. The big rain season generally lasts from March to the end of May or beginning of June. The small rain season is from October to November.




Tanzania is located south of the equator. As far as temperatures are concerned, there are no noticeable changes of seasons. One can only speak of a dry season (between May and October) and two rain seasons - the big one (March to early June) and the small one (October/November), which, however, does not affect all regions.


In general one speaks of a tropical climate. The year-round average temperatures during the day are rarely below 25°C, but depending on the region they often exceed 35°C - especially in the lowlands. Especially at night, the temperatures vary seasonally more the higher you get: on the central plateau in the interior, for example in Arusha (below Kilimanjaro), you can sometimes drop to 15°C.

Niederschlag Tanzania.png
bottom of page